Thursday, June 12, 2008

NHL Awards night: the envelope please...

The NHL Awards is generally one of the most boring awards show of the year. The athletes are stiff as rink boards, and Ron McLean is no Billy Crystal when it comes to opening monologues. But this year's event was a celebration of youth hockey as well as the professionals vying for league hardware.

The sport's willingness to celebrate its future as well as its past and present is one of the reason's I fell in love with hockey. So props to the show producers for meeting Canadian content laws by giving a gaggle of young hockey players the stage instead of some Juno-nominated house band.

And the winners are...

Hart Memorial Trophy
Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

Vezina Trophy
Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Devils

James Norris Memorial Trophy
Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings

Calder Memorial Trophy
Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy
Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings

Frank J. Selke Trophy
Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings

Lester B. Pearson Award
Alexander Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

King Clancy Memorial Trophy
Vincent Lecavalier, Tampa Bay Lightning

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy
Jason Blake, Toronto Maple Leafs

Jack Adams Award
Bruce Boudreau, Washington Capitals

Lifetime Achievement Award (inaugural)
Gordie Howe

Awards Based on Regular-Season Statistics

Art Ross Trophy
Alexander Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

Maurice Richard Trophy
Alexander Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

William M. Jennings Trophy
Chris Osgood & Dominik Hasek, Detroit Red Wings



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home